I Got Punched

20Feb09

WOW! Thank you all so much for the kind words of support and belief in me! And we haven’t even met! Absolutely incredible. Every single comment made me smile and made me that much more confident. Thank you!!!

All day I was in a cloud of my own thoughts. I couldn’t get my mind off what I had to do later in the day. I managed to eat very well, despite the distractions. Before Women’s Chorale I had oats- just micro’d, no overnightness goin’ on:

1/2 C rolled oats, 1 C water, 1/2 naner, cinn, nutmeg, ginga, scoop Dark Chocolate Dreams

1/2 C rolled oats, 1 C water, 1/2 naner, cinn, nutmeg, ginga, scoop Dark Chocolate Dreams

All I had really wanted was the Dark Chocolate Dreams. The rest was just along for the ride. I then was five minutes late to class because I was too caught up reading about all a ya’lls’ lives. After chorale I worked out, went over my script three times while elliticaling. Then I came home ravenous for lunch:

La Tortilla Factory wrap with Laughing Cow, Sabra's original, romaine; RICE apple; whole pepper with Pace salsa

La Tortilla Factory wrap with Laughing Cow, Sabra's original, romaine, butter pickles; RICE apple; whole pepper with Pace salsa

That lunch was fantastic. I showered, read blogs, went over the entire script in my head a few times and then had to get ready. AH! My mind was all over the place. To calm down, I ate dinner, part one. Actually, I don’t really think I like to use the term dinner because I eat lots of smaller things all the time. So I shall call this…Snack 1:

couple scoops pumpkin and plain FF yogurt with SF syrup; Nature's Path Does Raisin Bran; scoop Mighty Maple

couple scoops pumpkin and plain FF yogurt with SF syrup; Nature's Path Does Raisin Bran; scoop Mighty Maple

I had that at five-ish and then headed to the theater! My scene partner and I went over and over the script, and he kept messing up one specific spot while I kept messing up another. I was feeling confident that I could do it, but right before we went on, there was a moment of, “holy sh*t, we’re going to f*ck this up royally.”

On stage, things were going well. The audience was laughing, we were into it and I’d only had to swoop in and save one of my scene partner’s lines one time. Then there is a part where he puts his arm around me. As he was doing this, I was leaning into him. His elbow met my nose. I got punched! It hurt! And it was hilarious! Everyone cracked up, and it was impossible to maintain composure. We got past it though, and the rest went on wonderfully. It was a blast.

Being on stage is so unlike anything else. There are a million things happening at once. Inside your head you’re trying to fight off thoughts that are unrelated to the script. You’re trying to stay one line ahead of yourself, even though a completely different line is coming out of your mouth. You hear the audience. You try not to wonder who is out there and what they’re thinking. Overall, though, you just try to keep your act together.

I felt euphoric after! Performing is such a high! So what am I doing to celebrate? Staying in to do some homework! Haha tomorrow will be the night for fun and letting loose. After the show I continued my snacking:

frozen veg and edamame mixed with pepper, crushed red pepper, chili powder, salsa

frozen veg and edamame mixed with pepper, crushed red pepper, chili powder, salsa

I only ate the vegetables because I thought I needed at least another serving of them. But what I was really after:

Another box down

Another box down

From Monday to Friday, I have finished off three boxes of food. 1)Kashi TLC Toasted Asiago 2)Cascadian Farms Organic Kids 3)Nature’s Path pictured above. Now, I’m not sure if this means I should eat less processed, delicious, satifying cereals and crackers and replace them with, I dunno, more “real” food, but that’s all I want at the end of the day. So ya know what? I don’t curr what nutritionists or whoever has to say. I’m eating just the way I like.

Enough of that diatribe, right? So, I may not post at all tomorrow because Mama J will be here and we’ll be busy, but I’ll be back soon! I’ll just be acting my hiney off all weekend.

Again, thank you ALL for the mind-blowing support and encouragement. It means so much to me! Have a fun/relaxing/productive/sleep-filled/whatever-the-hell-you-want-to-do weekend! MUCH LOVE!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

12 Responses to “I Got Punched”

  1. BOO ya, we do what we want! πŸ˜€ I go through many a packaged food myself…hey, we read the labels, we buy the “obligatory” Kashi, Nature’s Path, etc. products- I personally plan on living a long and healthy life so i’m not sweating it! Great job on the play but sorry about the punching, at least the audience went with it!

  2. EFFIN RIGHT! YOU EAT WATCHU WANT! <333

    And I’m SO happy you had a Great Run!! Toooold youuuuu πŸ˜‰ LoveLoveLove. Ain’t no ther feelin like that of being on stage. I’m never happier.

  3. Congrats on the play! I felt a little twinge of that performing high after just reading this post!

    Sometimes I feel a little guilty about eating Puffins, granola, and other “processed” stuff, and then I think, “Cripes woman! It’s not like you are eating Pork Rinds w/ spray cheese, so chill the hell out!”

    So Kailey, chill the hell out πŸ˜‰

  4. hi, i just came across your blog and love it πŸ™‚
    great eats!! cereals the best!
    glad the show went well, sounds like you had a lot of fun ( regardless of being punched :P)
    have a great night

  5. Eeek!! Thank goodness the punching wasn’t TOO detrimental – don’t want you to be super-hurt, girl!!

  6. yayyyyyyyyyyyyyy, you made it!!! and now you’re on a roll. and tonight you’ll be dazzling, too! sounds like the punch was a good audience ice-breaker. maybe you should work it into tonight’s performance again, haha.

    i go nuts with cereal and crackers, too! they’re just so easy to work into every meal:-D.

    p.s. 9.5 hours of sleep last night with the mask and plugs, whoop whoop. i’m sticking with the accessories!

  7. Oh yeah! You should eat what you want, I crave cereal all the time and I make sure to get it in at least once a day. It’s the greatest food ever. And hey, at least your not eating froot loops or cookie crisp with all those chemicals.

    That oatmeal looks so good! Love Dark Chocolate PB! haha I have been late many times due to blogging, I just can’t help it!

  8. whoa! hope your nose is ok! but glad you met it with good humor even though it hurt.
    yup, life is short, we should eat what we want! HEAR< HEAR!
    oh, and beautiful oatmeal bowl!

  9. That lunch?! Absolutely incredible! Hope your schnoze is feeling better today – no Marcia Brady nose πŸ˜‰

    Have you heard of the show The Closer?! Well you are the food closer!! I give you props for polishing off those boxes, mama! Who cares – eat what you want!! At least the stuff you’re eating isn’t STUFFED with HFCS or other yuck-o things!

    Have a fab Saturday, chick!

  10. kailey, kailey, kailey, i just adore you! thanks for such a sweet comment on my novel of a post, i’m glad you enjoyed my story! and of course i must thank you for a healthy dose of reality/boost of confidence, you’re the best!

    so glad opening night went well!!!! so glad, but so not surprised, haha! good for you for eating what YOU want, i guess there’s always ways we “could” improve our diets but that makes eating less fun! not to mention you weren’t chowing down on ritz crackers, lucky charms, and fruit loops! you’re doing everything exactly right for you, and that’s all that matters!

    hope you have a GREAT day, is there another performance tonight? if so — kill it. you got this!

    love love love!

  11. hi wonderful!

    pumpkin raisin crunch?
    is it cereal?
    granola?
    what?!?!!?!!? I WANNNNNNTTTT ITTTTTTTTTTTT!

    your were in a play?
    production of some sort?!

    hahaha i love that you just went with the flow when you got punched.. ice that bay bay!
    don’t let it sweellll up

  12. thanks for adding me to your blogrolll! I’ll add you to mine too~


Leave a Reply

