Control Freak’s Worst Nightmare

12Feb09
Hello everyone! Remember my last post? Remember those lofty goals I had for the night (read 100 pages of a novel and work on my script, all after my meetings that lasted until 10:30)? Well, I always like to think that I can do it all, but last night I realized that I’m only human and that sometimes, doing it all just isn’t possible.
We had our a capella practice OUTSIDE in the cold and wind. The weather last night was crazy! I’m talking knock-me-sideways winds. I’m talking break-my-umbrella winds! Anyway, the practice was awesome though because we were on Athens’ main street, Court Street. People were walking by and lovin’ what they were hearing (at least that’s what I like to believe). After practice, I sprinted back to the music building to find MisterMan waiting for me in his Civic.
As we drove to my house, I was content that the rest of my night would be filled with hours of reading. If I had to stay up till four or five to finish reading and script work, so what? No biggie. And then, as we were driving up a steep brick hill to my street, we hear a pop and a little explosion. What was that? When we got to my block, this control freak’s worst nightmare was presented: the power went out. Guess that sound was a blown transformer.
No lights, no heat, no opening the fridge, no internet. You can bet your tiny hiney I cried. Head-in-my-hands cried. I’ve felt like I was about to crack all week, and I finally did. Now that I’m past my pity party, I can see that the loss of power in only the block in which I live was a HUGE sign.
I’m not very religious, but I truly believe that the power going out was God’s way of telling me to slow down. We can’t do it all. As much as I so desperately want to give everything to the things I do, sometimes it just isn’t possible. It took the blackout to make me realize that.  
Thankfully, MisterMan was there last night to calm me down and offer alternate plans for the night. I decided that it would be best to go back to his apartment for the night. Considering that I had eaten dinner at 5p.m., I was STARVING at this point (10:30p.m.). Here’s what was eaten at 5p.m.:
three egg whites, spinash, spag squash, crushed red pepper, italian seasoning, dill, pepper

three egg whites, spinash, spag squash, crushed red pepper, italian seasoning, dill, pepper

That was scrumptious. But not as scrumptious as these:
cheetah sweet potatoes with tons of ketchup

cheetah sweet potatoes with tons of ketchup

Don’t those spots look like a cheetah? Just me? Okay.
Well anyway, I ate that at 5ish, then had class and ate a mini clif bar at 8:30, and was hangry at 10:30. I told MisterMan I wanted pita chips and hummus, so to Kroger we went. Back at the ranch, I was finally a happy camper:
BIG TIME SnackFace

BIG TIME SnackFace

Little scary, I know. Don’t mess with me when I’m hungry. Does anyone else realize that Stacy’s pita chips always have the nutrition info printed incorrectly? It always says that there are six servings, when I’m pretty sure they mean one serving. Because that’s all I ever get out of it 🙂

After eating to my heart’s content, I tried to make a dent in that 100 pages of reading. Only made it to page 30. Which means…I’m skipping English class today. I’m still trying to talk myself into believing this is a good idea. I don’t skip classes. I think this is the first class for this entire school year that I’ve skipped. But really, I’ve been emotionally all over the place lately. It’s important to take care of my sanity at this point. Or whatever is left of it.

I have a lot on the plate today too, despite my skipping class:
3-5 p.m. VICO 140
5-7/8 Sound check and performance for Tempo Tantrum’s (often referred to as a capella) first GIG of the quarter!!!!
7/8-9 Play rehearsal
12a.m. Out for friend’s 21st! Haha this should be good… but not as good as tomorrow night (I’ll share later 🙂 )

Kidlets, thank you so much for reading and listening to my rant. However, I hope all you busy bees get a lil somethin’ out of it too! I’ll be back later to tell you how everything went (the gig, the make out scenes, ya know)!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

P.S. MisterMan whipped these out of the back seat as I was stomping off to my pitch-black house last night:

Ain't dat sweet?

Ain't dat sweet?

I felt like a huge beeotch as he was handing them to me, as I had been whining and storming out of his car. Whoops.

Okay, bye lady loves 🙂

10 Responses to “Control Freak’s Worst Nightmare”

  1. I’m not sure why it’s not showing up 😦 Sorry about the power outage but a good cry and a good BF with flowers will help pick up the pieces!

    Okay I thought when you put cheetah you meant it as in cheater (you know dinnah/dinner) HAHA that is what studying does to my brain!! Stacy’s Pita Chips!!! YUMMY

    Have a blast tonight, girl! Let off some steam – that’s an order!

  2. sweet flowers 🙂 don’t worry girl we all need to vent sometimes! sometimes all you need is a good cry to get everything out! sorry you were stressed, but glad you got to take some time and relax a little. love those pita chips and hummus. enjoy your day today!

  3. awww kailey! sorry that everything went, well, wrong…but i agree with you 100%, life has a way of giving us major signs to CHILL OUT and SLOW DOWN! i am so like you in the way that i just don’t stop and give myself time to breathe until i crack – i’m glad you got it out of your system though, and venting is the best way to do it! it’s YOUR blog, you say what goes =)

    your boyfriend is just too cute with the flowers and pita chips/hummus… clearly he’s a keeper!

    YES those sweet potatoes look like a cheetah! HAHA i’ve never thought about it like that, you’re hilarious! hope you’re having a better day today, i’m thinking of you! xoxo

  4. Girl, no worries!! I’m a perfectionist and ALWAYS freak out, so I hear ya 🙂

    SWEET POTATOES!!!!!!!!!! My love.

  5. Ahh sorry about the power going out, I hate that!!!

    Love the cheetah sweet potatoes, I’m so jealous.

  6. OMG I TOTALLY WROTE ABOUT THE FACT STACEY JIPS US IN MY POST 2 NIGHTS AGO!!! there is NO WAY there are 6 servings in that lil ol bag!?!? who is stacey kidding!!!! lol that is TOO funny how we both wrote about it this week 🙂 so sorry about your power but YAY for misterman coming to the rescue!! LOVE LOVE LOVE ur sweet tater “cheetas” –what a great description! 🙂 not to mention a lovely spread! have a great day beautiful! xoxox

  7. ahhhhh, things always seem to go wrong when you’re already feeling overwhelmed with too much to do! good for you for seeing the silver lining and getting pita chips, hummus, flowers, and good company out of it 🙂

  8. Oh when the lights go out on me, you better believe it’s panic attack central! Glad you got your night figured out with the help of “mister man” and got some pita chips and hummus in yo system.

    Hope your Thursday was grand! 🙂

  9. 9 cleanveggiex3

    delicious looking sweet potato fries!

  10. the sweet potatoes looks delicious!
    and i love your big time snackface picture. that’s how REAL women eat 🙂


Leave a Reply

