I Love My Best Friend

11Feb09

Wanna know why? Because we have phone conversations like this on Monday nights:
12:30 a.m., my cell rings, phone says “Muffin”
Me: Hey! Are you okay!??
Ashley (Muffin): Yeah! Omg! I’m at 19 South [a club] and it’s $1 shot night!
Me: Hahaha are you okay though?
Ashley: Yeah, I’m outside smoking a cigarette. I accidentally had six shots!
Me: Oh my god. Why?
Ashley: People just kept buying them for me! And this guy was telling me how white I was and I told him: I’m not white, I’m not black, I’m a princess.

Folks, no part of that is false. That is my best friend and she is hysterical. We actually had that conversation, which we just rehashed in Visual Communication class. She also shared that she continued to introduce herself to others as Princess Ashley. And when a guy asked her to “grind” with him, she replied, “princesses don’t grind.”

I hope you found that nearly half as amusing as I did. Anyway, how is your Tuesday going? Mine’s been uneventful and rainy, yet pleasant.

I woke up this morning at 8:30, ate half naner with Mighty Maple,Β headed to the gym, got in an AWESOME sweat-tastic workout (35 mins. elliptical, then weight machines- don’t know what they’re called: 2 ab exercises, 4 arm exercises- killah). I then walked home, showered and made this ASAP.

Best pumpkin protein oats yet!

Best pumpkin protein oats yet!

This is no novel idea for those of you who are oatmeal experts, but I added ginger and nutmeg to the usual (1/2 C oats, 1 C water, 2 scoops pumpkin, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, cinnamon), and it MADE the oats. Clearly, I don’t own pumpkin pie spice or else this wouldn’t have been such a relevation.

Classes today were also pleasant. In English we watched a documentary Maid in America, about Latina workers in Los Angeles. Eye opening. In VisCom we learned more about impressionism. In between those classes I had a mini chocolate chip Clif bar that did not hold me over well. I came home to tear this apart:

ate more than half before I took the pic

ate more than half before I took the pic

Followed by two of these:

rice cake with white bean aioli spread

rice cake with white bean aioli spread

I’m not going to buy rice cakes for a long time. I always think they are going to make great snacks and mediums for toppings, but they never fill me up and I just really want real food afterward.

Those eats weren’t all that exciting, but I missed everyone and had to give ya something! Tomorrow morning I’ll post dinner, late night snacks and the package Mama J sent πŸ™‚

Tonight I have a capella rehearsal 8-9:30 and play rehearsal 9:30-11. The scary part of all that: I think tonight’s the night I have to start making out with my scene partner. Ahh! I’m not ready! I’ll report back with the deets tomorrow. Everyone have a tickled/terrific/trippy Tuesday night!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

15 Responses to “I Love My Best Friend”

  1. Haha, fun friend!! πŸ˜€

    Good luck with your busy night, girl!!

  2. 2 ashley lutz/muffin

    hahaha i love you! glad you were so amused. i know i do you proud πŸ™‚

    this post is only 20 percent as amusing as the soon-to-come recap of our MAMA J weekend in the spring!!! hahaha. “i don’t give a f”

  3. I love calls from my girlies like that, although sometimes a middle of the night wake up call does not go over well. The pumpkin oats look great!

  4. oh my goodness those oats those oats!

    ❀
    vanilla protein powdah? does that make it more filllingg!?

    YUM.

  5. haha I love my friends for very similar reasons as you. Love calls like that! And it’s why I enjoy being the DD (sometimes) πŸ˜‰

    YUMMY oats! And yes, pumpkin pie spice was amazing the first time I discovered it!

    I agree about rice cakes, I always have big plans for them, but then they are just sooo disappointing 😦

    Have FUNn tonighttttt!

  6. So funny about your friend, she sounds amazing.

    Oh for the love of Pumpkin Oatmeal =)

  7. mighty maple=bomb. rice cakes=not so much. love your friends silly drunken texts, my friends are the same way. so funny. glad yall had a nice chat! does she go to the same college, i assume, or is she a friend from high school? either way, thats great!

    love the eats, they;re not boring girl–get it straight! love the K mug obvs. My A is at home! I miss it. Ill live through you though. Much lovee!

  8. Oh I know what you mean about rice cakes. I can’t stop eating them either – especially the caramel flavored ones. LOL!

  9. 9 cleanveggiex3

    Rice cakes are so addicting. can’t put them down!

  10. oats look GREAT!! your bestie is too funny– dontcha love that best friend stuff that only you two can understand πŸ™‚ good luck in class and making out with the guy (i’m assuming it’s a guy!!?!)– i hope he’s cute! have a great night beautiful

  11. 11 Marissa

    Funny story about your friend πŸ™‚

    http://www.redheadedjournal.wordpress.com

  12. hahahah i LOVE that story! i sadly could see myself saying the same kinda thing…

    love the pumpkin oats! i cant get enough of them, youd think id be sick of them already…

    and i agree wholeheartedly on the rice cake issue! lol, have a great night, girl =)

  13. 13 foodsthatfit

    Ooh those oats look awesome! I find adding protein powder helps a ton in keeping me fuller longer!

  14. Haha!! Your friend sounds like my friends!

  15. omg that convo just made my entire f*ckin’ day!! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

