A Peek Inside My Head

02Feb09
I am beyond excited that people are reading my blog!  I don’t care if it’s two or 200- I love it!  And thank you to anyone and everyone who comments! I get giddy with each post and comment.

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a magazine journalism major in the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University. An important aspect of journalism is grammar. While I realize it is necessary, I get annoyed with my own thoughts! I will say something and then run it over in my head. Was that right? Did I use that instead of who when referring to a person? I think about grammar when I read, write and listen to others speak. Allow me to highlight two spots that I thought about after this morning’s post:

“I often wonder if Kashi can do any wrong.” What bugs me here? The “if” should be a “whether.”
“Demolished this in less than three minutes.” Use of “less” and “fewer” can be tricky. If it’s something you can actually count, such as M&Ms, pages, calories and probably minutes, you are to use “fewer.” If it is a singular mass quantity, such as flour or sugar, you are to use “less.”
EXAMPLE: This cake recipe calls for less flour and fewer eggs than the other one.

Annoyed yet?  Yeah, me too.  But that’s seriously what goes on inside my head! (Oh and right there, probably shouldn’t have on then inside- double prepositions).  So as a warning, I will not always be grammatically correct, but you can bet I’ll be thinking about it! I’ll also cringe at any of my spelling mistakes.

On a lighter note, I had a great time in class and women’s chorale. We worked on new songs (Ave Verum, The Poet Sings and Sir Duke-love!). I eventually made it home (after a work-out and long walk back to mi casa) and made some grub.

flat-out, laughing cow, sabra's roasted garlic hummus, spinach, mustard and BREAD AND BUTTER PICKLE CHIPS
flat-out, laughing cow, sabra’s roasted garlic hummus, spinach, mustard and BREAD AND BUTTER PICKLE CHIPS

I had completely forgotten that I love bread n butter pickles until I recently saw them on Caitlin’s blog (healthytippingpoint.com- ahh I don’t know how to hyperlink yet!), as well as LovIN My Tummy.

plain ff yogurt, pumpkin, protein powder and cinnamon

plain ff yogurt, pumpkin, protein powder and cinnamon

That accompanied the amazing wrap.  Lunch dessert was half a white chocolate macadamia Clif bar.  I will not be posting everything I eat, just to let everyone know.  It’d drive me loopy probably. I’ll feature highlights and my faves of the day!

I still have Autobahn rehearsal 6-8, women’s chorale sectionals 9-10 and then 68 pages of a novel to finish tonight. Sometimes it all overwhelms me, but it’s truly all enjoyable 🙂 As my Yogi tea bag message read today: “You are unlimited.”

Ciao for now,

Kailey

4 Responses to “A Peek Inside My Head”

  1. 1 Ashley

    I totally understand your grammar worries! I love love love flat outs now…one of the best food recommendations I’ve received.

  2. 2 Ashley

    Also..an easy way to remember whether/if is that you use if when something is contingent on something else. Ex: “We can eat Goodfellas if you take another shot.” (Just an example, nothing more)

    • 3 snackface

      Hahahaha Ash I have NO idea what you’re talking about. What is this Goodfella’s you mention?

  3. eats look so good! love pickles 🙂 and love your blog girl! and i love love yogi tea bag messages, they are wonderful!


Leave a Reply

