In Honor Of

27Feb10

Hi babies! I hope your Fridays/weekends are off to marvelous starts.

Today, I think it’s finally time that I share a bit of my past in honor of NEDA week. I’ve debated sharing this for the entire time I’ve had this blog, but I feel secure enough to write this.

I often get questions about how I manage to keep my life balanced between schoolwork, dancing my weekends away, eating relatively healthy, eating relatively unhealthy, working out and blogging. The key to doing it all, for me, is to live by one saying:

Love and live your life.

You have to do it. You can’t stay trapped within a crazy, highly structured, rule-riddled world that you’ve created for yourself.

It’s not worth it.

To all the women who are struggling or have struggled with an eating disorder, I have been there. I was searching through my old Facebook photos and I found one that aptly sums up how I felt while caged in by my own torturous little world:

Sad and starving for more.

It breaks my heart to look at this and think back about how I used to live. Not live, rather.

My story is no different from countless other women and men who have struggled. For this reason, I feel no need to describe the sadness of three years of my life on this blog.

It is no longer a part of my life. The past is in the past, so it will stay there. We can move forward only when we let go of what’s bruised our lives.

Never again will I keep track of every crumb that enters my body. Never again will I diligently write it in a notebook each night, contemplating how I can eat less the next day. Never again will I dash off to the gym when I fear I’ve over eaten. Never again will I weigh myself at least three times a day. Never again will I go to bed with a grumbling stomach and tell myself I’m just digesting.

I won’t do it.

Our lives are far too beautiful and precious to take for granted. These words are not fresh by any means, but they are true.

To those who happen to be battling an eating disorder, you can do this. You have the strength to leave your demons behind. Please trust me.

For some, recovery comes in the form of treatments, nutritionists, psychologists. For me, it’s been the people closest to me. MamaJ, Popsicle and MattyRich have supported me and celebrated all progress, loving me intensely. Muffin, though, showed me how to live.

I won’t share the deep details of my undernourished years, but if anyone would like to email me for comfort or with questions, please feel free.

My lovely ladies, our lives are too rich and delicious to worry about sizes, weights, measurements and numbers. Numbers are nothing. They can’t measure what matters.

I’m off to get ready for another rowdy weekend. Please take some time this weekend to celebrate life. And always love yourself.

Love and live your life:

Living it up.

Living it up times 10.

Loving.

More loving.

Living, loving and being divalicious.



126 Responses to “In Honor Of”

  1. Thank you so much for sharing! I’m so glad that you are at a happy place with yourself and your nutrition. You look amazing! :)

  2. 2 Lyss

    i love you so much kail and i’m so proud of everything you stand for. there’s simply nothing else i can say.

  3. 3 HannahBanana

    crying here k, thanks so much for being a strong beautiful and inspirational friend. youre always leaving me in awe with your words and emotions. im so proud of you, ad am honored to be your friend.

    Love always
    B

  4. What an amazing saying to live your life by. I think I will borrow that one from you. I’m also glad you are in a happy place.

  5. Such a sweet and honest post! You are AWESOME :) Have a FAB weekend, live it up weez-style ;)

    xoxox, Lauren

  6. What a well-written and thoughtful post. Btw, what blush (if any) do you use? Just curious ‘cuz the pinky-golden flush in yo cheeks is to die for!

  7. love it! and you! have an AWESOME weekend girl!

  8. yes- that’s how I got over ED before- having loved ones who care helps so much.

    you look healthy and beautiful now!

  9. What a great post! You are such an inspiration Kailey! I didn’t know you had an ED and I am glad you are willing to talk to others and help them through recovery!
    Loveeee ya lots,
    Jenna xo

  10. came across your blog from Caitlin’s (Healthy Tipping Point) tweet. love your “motto” and you’re definitely some inspiration to me. I can’t wait to read more :)

  11. Amazing post. Have a wonderful weekend@

  12. 12 Kelsey

    wonderful post, kailey!!! love your bravery and you!

  13. 13 Melissa

    you’re absolutely gorgeous and so well spoken. you have such a bright future ahead. amazing post.

  14. 14 Erica H.

    you’re beautiful girl :) you have such a positive attitude and i’m sure it inspires a lot of other people besides myself every day.

    you look so much healthier in later pictures — but more telling than that, i think, is how much HAPPIER you look.

    live it.

  15. <3 you for staying so strong and being so brave

  16. 16 ruddenca

    You’re such an inspiring person, and that’s why I love reading your blog everyday! It brings a little sunshine and insight in to my day. I’ve never had an ED, but have been working on my twisted relationship w/ food, but despite all of that you simply inspire me in LIFE! Thanks :)

  17. amazing post and thank you so much for inspiring others who may be struggling – it’s all about loving yourself enough to throw away the demons forever

  18. 18 megzzwinsatlife

    awww Great post girl!!! You are such a beautiful strong women!!

  19. i love this post! your positive words are so important to so many females struggling with these issues!

  20. WOW K baby!
    thank you so much for sharing
    your zest for life, you are a ray of sunshine my love.
    what you have been through has made you WHO YOU ARE today, you have touched soo many people and will continue to do so.
    you are honestly one of the most beautiful girls i have ever seen-and one of the reasons why is because your heart is SO beautiful, your passion overflows with your words.
    you are so talented too and the reason you can practice that talent is because you have kicked ED to the curb and realized that there is SO MUCH MORE TO LIFE than that!
    i am so freaking proud of you, this is sooo refreshing to read..what a GREAT testimony!
    you have truly used that God has gotten you through to make a difference in this world and I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!

  21. wonderful post. i’m in awe of your strength and your ability to look beyond! here’s to hoping it rubs off on all of us in one way or another.

  22. 22 Anon

    This brought a tear to my eye (And I am deffo not a crier!). You are so beautiful, strong, intelligent… just generally fabby! I have been struggling hugely this week with body image/urges to do stupid things, and reading this has just helped to pull me back to a more positive place again and remind me what a waste of time all that sh*t is – we’re not here for a long time, we’re here for a good time, right?! I’m now off to enjoy my weekend and push those silly thoughts out my head. Thank you for being so inspiring.

    • 23 snackface

      Anon- Thank you so much for sharing this. Let’s live it up and DO THA DAMN THANG this weekend! I send my love.

  23. 24 Allison R.

    Amazing post. You are so admirable! xoxo

  24. 25 Nicole

    Thank you for sharing! This is a great post. Love your motto :)

  25. 26 fromatopink

    What a phenomenally honest post. Thank you so much for sharing – and you are so right, it’s easy to forget that we actually need to LIVE. Life is a gift, not something to be taken for granted. You are such a beautiful person, inside AND out. :)

  26. 27 Little Bookworm

    Fantastic post. You are amazing and I love your motto! Hope you have a great weekend! :D

  27. You are awesome girly. I’m so proud of you!!!! ED is such an evil lil beotch. You rock for standing up to it and showing it who’s boss :) So live your lifeeeeee ayayayay (Rihanna song I think lol) <3

  28. 29 Hattie

    Thank you for sharing this with us.

  29. You are so SO SO brave for sharing this.
    I know it must have been very hard for you to put this up for everyone to see but I am so glad you did.
    I can sympathise with many things you’ve mentioned and I hope this will help girls and guys out there who might struggle with this issue.

    You are amazing girl!
    (btw. I’m the girl [I’m sure there are many] who told you many weeks ago that you inspired me to become vegetarian, I’m still going strong, loving it and ventured into food/life/health blogging! :D)

    xxx
    Pie

  30. You are amazing girl. Not only do you look incredibly hot, gorgeous, stunning, etc at the weight you are at now – you are absolutely GLOWING. That speaks volumes.

  31. Kailey, I just want to find you and grab you in a big hug right now.

    You are awesome for opening up and sharing this, because I know a lot of young girls in the blog world look up to you and your awesomeness, and you’ve just helped a lot of people with this.

    Live yo life, Kailey!

    ‘I got so much ice, they yell ‘skate wayne!’…and that’s just because I was listening to that song today and it made me think of you and your wild love affair with the Wayne.

    Cheers!

  32. This is great. I love hearing stories like this and think that it’s very important to reach out to all the girls out there going through the same thing you did. I agree we all just gotta let loose and live our lives!

  33. Such a great post! You’re suchha inspiration!
    xoxxox
    Vera

  34. Hi there – new to you and your blog but I must commend you for braving it all and SHARING your story. It can be hard to hit “publish” but I – and the 34 commenters above me and many more anonymous readers – all love that you did. Thank you for sharing your story and instilling your belief (and fact) that you must love and live your life. Beautiful. Rock out your gorg (and might I add smokin hot) self extra hard this weekend knowing you’re strong enough to tell all. Looking forward to more!!

    • 36 snackface

      thetwentyfifthyear- Oh my goodness, thank you so much for finding me and commenting. I fully appreciate the support. YOU rock it out this weekend, too! :)

  35. Hey Girl!
    Thank for this post! I too, am a member of the group formerly known as the eating disordered. I try not to make it the focus of my blog or my life, but it does occasionally come up and when that happens, I think its fair to acknowledge it. Its very brave of you to share yourself like that! If ANYONE hates on this post, let me know and I will kick some butt.
    You are hilarious and awesome, keep it up!!

  36. WOW. Thank you sooo much for sharing this. I actually had no idea you struggled with this before, but I have always admired your love for living life to the fullest, even if only based on what you post. I was JUST about to go to the gym on my rest day (in the snow storm!) because I had just eaten my bodyweight in chips and salsa, in addition to lunch. Reading this post made me stop in my tracks and realize that there’s more to life than just food, exercise, and numbers. So instead, I am going to go hang out with my family on this snow day and enjoy their company. Thank you thank you thank you. You couldn’t have posted this at a better time.

  37. Kailey, beautiful post. To know that someone as full of life and amazing as you has also struggled at one point is comforting. Your blog was one of the first that I read when I was struggling to get out of my ED. You are truly refreshing and beautiful. Thank you for your honesty.

    Sara

  38. You are amazing sweetheart, and I love you so so so much. I’m so glad that you followed through with sharing this all with the world… I’m sure you’ve inspired more people than you could ever imagine :)

    P.S. On a living and loving note, what are you doing the weekend of March 12th?

  39. What an amazing post Kailey :) Thanks for being so open and honest! You are such an inspiration and role model for young girls on how to live such a well balance life :) You should be so proud of yourself and all you have accomplished :) Thanks for letting us in your world :) xoxo

  40. Amen, amen, amen! I’ve been there, too – and it is SO ENTIRELY possible to be happy again! Your words said it best!

    Also, I have been meaning to email you to tell you this…but I guess a comment is just as good: I’m a 3rd grade teacher and there is a boy in my class who brings at least 5 snacks to class a day. After following your blog for a while…it was only natural for me to call him SNACKFACE. He embraces the title to it’s fullest. When he walks in the classroom each morning, he announces “Snackface is here!”…you have a legacy. His name is Dominic. His official title is Snackface Domo (short for Dominic). :-) Happy Friday!

  41. You are gorgeous and radiant with health and happiness. An inspiration to everyone, everywhere.

  42. You are a beautiful inspiration. Thank you for sharing this, I know it must’ve been difficult to look back on your past. You’re amazing.

  43. its hard for me to leave comments that arent inappropriate so im just going to say i love you and leave it at that. so:

    i love you.

  44. 47 Allie

    amazing and beautiful post. i’ve been there and back, and you captured the joy we all should find in LIVING so beautifully. thank you for sharing.

  45. You are gorg in every way possible! My heart strings are all over the place right now.

  46. Kailey, you are awesome for posting this. Congratulations on being confident enough to show that recovery is possible, health and happiness is possible, and that you’re only human too (not just the super cute model who just happens to own a friggin awesome blog)!!! :)

  47. 50 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    you look AMAZING in your most recent pictures!!!! you honestly glow and look so incredibly healthiy/happy! you are a HUGE inspiration. have a great weekend!

    oxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  48. 51 rediscoveringlauren

    you never cease to amaze me kailey :) really, your strength is so inspiring…the fact that you managed to overcome what you went through and found such a wonderful balance and attitude to life is really beautiful! life really is too short to waste. you really do inspire me so much and give me hope for full freedom! Thanks for sharing that hun!

  49. I am so proud of you for having the courage to share this. You are amazing, beautiful and strong and I am so blessed to know you.

  50. 53 Meghan

    You are strong, beautiful and supaaa fly. I am so glad that you felt compelled to share your story. So happy that you are in the place you are today…isn’t living life FUN!? And I gotta say…you live and your life seems so fulfilled!

  51. you really are beautiful and so full of life. I love reading your blog beacuse you shine through every word you write. you have come such a long way and should be so very proud of yourself. What a great role model :)

  52. You’re wise beyond your years and your gift with words will inspire other women. Keep up your tremendous work!!!

  53. 56 Haylee

    That is so awesome you shared that…it actually fit into what I exactly needed to hear today. Thank you SO much! I love love your blog and now I love it even more! You can now officially say you have helped at least one person by sharing this.

  54. Babycakes you are such an amazing person, inside and out! I needed to hear this today. It’s my one year wedding anniversary (and we are still madly in love) and I was worrying about a few measly pounds that have crept back on. This weekend should be about celebrating how lucky I am to spend the rest of my life with my best friend, not whether not my pants feel tighter!

    Much tall girl love. I think we have very similar stories :)

  55. 58 Miki

    i am one of your blog stalkers and although ive enjoyed all your other posts, this one is by far the most incredible… enjoying life is so much better than starving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  56. 59 mlalove

    Hi sweet girl!
    Thank you so much for sharing this–I know it must have been really hard. I have had an eating disorder for 14 years, and I am only 25. I got into modeling and acting and dance and just hated how I was so much taller (I’m 5’11) than everyone else. I felt huge and disgusting.
    But reading your blog and seeing your beautiful, happy, energetic self gives me hope that maybe one day I can recover…so that my life can look a little like yours.
    Thank you for blogging!

    • 60 snackface

      mlalove- Oh my goodness, you are incredible for sharing this. The modeling world is whack, part of the reason why I’ve kind of given up that dream. Please take care and have a bossy weekend! xoxo

  57. I just wanted to drop a note to say that I’m still a newbie to snackface, but I think you are adorable and fierce! (And your cheetah recipe is used quite frequently in my house.) I love reading your posts, and as a recent college grad- your crazy schedule and classes are a great way for me to reminisce on four incredible years. Congratulations on getting healthy, and thank you so much for your encouraging words today. I think you inspire more people than you know. :)

  58. 62 elise

    you are the best. i love you and i love your healthy ‘tude…and i love that you refuse to let anything hinder your enjoyment of celebrating everything you have to offer this world. seriously kailey, you are such an inspiration and its a joy to read every word you write. your honesty is amazing, and i wish you lived in nyc bc i adore your vivacious personality. hopefully we will both end up in SF soon.
    anyways, the past is the past. you are such a fabulous girl, i know big things are in your future. snackface the mag is just the tip of the iceberg. you are doin’ the damn thang.

  59. Thank you so much for this, how true it is!

    xo
    K

  60. 64 *Andrea*

    Amazing post! You’re such a mature, gorgeous girl! Sometimes we have to go through dark periods to emerge even stronger and wiser. I’ve been there too and recovery is hard but definitely possible. Thanks so much for sharing!

  61. 65 Paige

    Awesome post! So glad that you’re living and loving your life. You’re more beautiful with a little meat (tofu?) on your bones anyway!

  62. You are truly amazing! This was so brave of you to share, and I can’t tell you how much respect I have for you right now. You are so beautiful and shining with joy. When I look at these pictures of you now, I am blown away by the happiness that just beams from your entire self. Thank you for being so honest. So many girls will benefit from your experience.

  63. 67 Julia

    Recognize this so, so much I can’t even explain. Life is sooooo much better on ‘the other side’. This made me cry and made me feel blessed. Thank you…

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  64. It’s evident that you are an inspiration to so many people who have been in the same situation! I struggled with my own issues in my freshmen year and i am so glad that there are people like you out there to provide a sense of reality to anyone who is still struggling. Your courage and bravery are probably 2 of your thousands of great qualities and it shines through not only your writing, but your ability to change people opinions about themselves and your willingness to provide comfort! One word pretty much sums this post up. Wow:)

  65. 69 muffin

    Reading this makes me so proud to be your friend. If I could have seen where you are now two years ago, I wouldn’t have believed it. Your willingness to live life without reservation enriches my life and makes me have more fun. Your endless support, generosity and humor makes my life so much better. I would not be the confident person I am today without you, and would have left college without most of the memories I treasure.

    I love you and am so excited for tonight!

    Muffin

  66. 70 Olivia

    You are amazing. You have such a zest for life, such incredible spirit, and you a such an inspiration to me. I am struggling, but attempting to recover, from an ED right now. After a startling relapse, I have recommitted to recovery, and reading this post makes me commit even further. It’s reading blogs like yours that show me that recovery is possible, living life fully, loving life for all it has to offer, and being free of the horrible, temptations of ED behaviors is attainable.

    Thank you for sharing and being snackface and being fabulous.
    Xoxo.

  67. Thank you so much for this Kailey! And you’re right, there is no need for you to describe any sort of struggles you went through on the blog. For those of us who know, it’s a sad story that should be left in our pasts. But what you’re saying here, the encouraging, TRUE words you are sharing, are the most important part of your story.

    You are a glowing example of LIVING and I love knowing you and reading your LIFE-filled posts! Have an awesome weekend :)

  68. 72 Hannah

    Kailey. Thanks for sharing your story. Every part is compelling and inspirational. You are so talented in your writing and your positive energy translates through your words. On top of that you seem to have such a beautiful soul–something that shines brighter than your physical appearance. I will take the words you live by and apply them to my life. Thanks again.

    -Hannah

  69. i am so happy you came into my life snackie face :) i lurve you!

    lolo

  70. 74 Susan

    Thanks for sharing your past struggle Kailey. SO glad you are living and loving life now though! How else might Snackface have come about then? You gawgess on the INSIDE as well as the divalicious outside!

  71. 75 Gina G

    we love you kailey! thanks so much for sharing! =)

  72. 76 The Brunette

    I’m so glad you shared this :) And for what it’s worth, you really glow with health these days. I mean it: you absolutely GLOW. You always look happy, healthy, and excited in your pictures, and your wordsare always optimistic. Eatin disorders happen to the best of us, but they can absolutely be overcome.

  73. 77 Julia

    You’re amazing. I think that about sums it up.

  74. I am in awe of you girlfriend, once again. This post probably saved tons (hundreds even!) of girls from going another night in tears– with fear of recovery, fear of a LIFE, fear of nourishment. You are so amazing, I love you to pieces and want to say you’re one of the most inspiring girls I know! Hope you have a crazayy night ahead and have your outfit picked out–since this girl has NO idea what she’s wearing yet :)

    And you now have such a gorgeous glow, and are so so so sooo beautiful! LOVE YOU!

  75. I really don’t think I can put in to words what a profound impact you have had on my face, Kailey. Your passion for life and ambition to seize every opportunity you’re presented with is awe-inspiring. You are the epitome of courage, strength, determination, perseverance. You are my idol, as cliche as it sounds. I strive to be as free and uninhibited as you are and allow myself to just LIVE MY DAMN LIFE. Oh Kailey, you have no idea how much you inspire me.

    I love you. No, screw that. I’m in love with you.
    all the hugs in the world my gem <3

  76. 81 Stephanie

    As a communications graduate, I have always admired and respected your fantastic writing ability and style as well as general presence in social media. As someone who struggled with and still relapses from time to time with disordered eating, I relate to this post. As an outsider, I want to say that your candor, honesty and relevance makes me have no doubt you will be incredibly successful in all that you do, including your career. Thanks for sharing your life with us.

  77. i dont care if im the 80th person saying this, but you really are an inspiration :)
    thanks! sometimes all i need is to read something like this post to put me in a good place and the right mindset
    so happy i found your blog :)

  78. I needed this, I really needed it. Thank Kailey. I am struggling, again. I was on this road about a year ago and I stepped off for a few months. It seems like things are going back to the way they were and I am scared…but I can’t stop myself from deprivation. I want to lose weight even though I look FINE. I want to cut the calories, cut the inches, cut the pounds. Why? Why? WHY? I don’t know why. Some days I feel just so messed up. I can’t believe I am back to this, after so many times that I have told people my story and told them how horrible it was…to never do that to yourself. Yet, here I am again, obsessing over the calorie counter and debating whether to put an extra pretzel in my mouth. It seems I can’t find that balance. After I recovered for those few months, I started to binge too much. Gained a little bit of softness around my mid-section and about a month ago felt terrified. OH NO, MY STOMACH ISN’T AS FLAT AS A PANCAKE! Operation deprivation time. Guhhhh, I am fighting and fighting and fighting this. I want to get over it, but I just don’t know how. My head is actually telling me not to send this because if I speak up about my struggles and seek help, then I will gain and be fat and ugly and not fit into those tiny jeans again. Some days are worse, some are better. I am just trying each and every day to tackle this, surmount it.

  79. You’re very brave for writing your post. I’ve been there also, years ago. Now I try to live my life “without regrets”. It seems to be working :) Have a fantastic weekend!

  80. 85 kenzie

    you are an incredible inspiration. what is your email?

  81. 86 homegirlcaneat

    Taking me back to our days of being hungover after LIVING IT UP SOOOO HARDCORE AND TO THE EXTREME and on your floor. Talking about life and what it is all about. Triple layer hummus, best friends, blog friends, blog sisters, soul sisters, family, dancing, the ocean, being thankful just to walk, talk, listen, and accept the world we live in and how we are able to live in it. I loved this and I LOVE YOU.

  82. 87 Kristina

    Thank you so much for sharing your past with us, you are so fierce and fabulous! I am not quite at the stage you are at yet (socially) but have made a ton of progress in my recovery without professional help. 6 months ago I found your blog and it not only inspired me but also pushed me to take immediate action towards recovery. Once again, thank you so much, girl!

  83. oh beautiful…tears to my eyes. i worship your strength.

  84. thank you for sharing your story girl.. you are inspiration!!!

  85. 90 Ellie

    This is pretty awesome to hear. I am also former anorexic, and it’s insane how different my world view is then and now. I find it almost literally unbelievable that I just don’t see the world through the filter of FOOD OBSESSION anymore. I never thought it’d be possible to live differently, but it is. It is pretty remarkable.
    Anyway . . . I love your blog and I love that you shared this. <3

  86. Amazing post.. I got nothing else :)

  87. Thank you for sharing this. It always inspires me to see others who have OVERCOME(!!!) their eating disorders. In the current pictures of you, I see a girl radiating health, happiness, and life. This is a beautiful, thing, let me tell you, and I hope someday I can be as free from ED as you are. God bless!

  88. 93 sparrow

    thank you for sharing that. I have always looked at your blog an example of a liberated life :) I could tell from the first post i read that you once struggled with food. I don’t know why…. that doesn’t matter now – we all make mistakes and grow out of phases in our life. Never forget your worth it :) all the best!

  89. 94 Danni

    This is a great post, if only for the fact that you now feel comfortable enough to talk about it as something completely in your past.

    I’m not sure if I struggle or not…I convince myself I’m fine, but I’m not entirely sure. How do you know for sure? Were you ever at the point where you had all the signs, but somehow still felt like it didn’t apply to you?

  90. Thank you for your beautiful openness and honesty. Reading this made me grow a pair and write what I had been meaning to for a long time. You’re such an inspiration. If you’re ever in Vancouver we need a dance off.

  91. LOVE AND LIVE YOUR LIFE, Amen to that , that is how we should live our lives, I think you are such a strong, beautiful, and amazing girl!!! Thanks for sharing your story, I am so glad you overcame your tough time girl, u rock and I love ya!!!!

    U are so beautiful inside and out!!!!! Snackface , everyone loves ya!!! Love your energy that pours from your post and pics, and of course love the fashion and eats!!!!!!

    Have a great weekend!!! xoxo

  92. 97 prettytimepiece

    hi there! i just found your blog, and this post is so amazing/beautiful. i don’t know you but i am so happy for you!!!!!!! the way you’ve struck that balance is awesome… you go girlll!
    <3 http://www.prettytimepiece.org

  93. Great post. You are just beautiful!

  94. You are so beautiful girl, and truly on the inside where it counts. I am absolutely determined to leave the past in the PAST and be a happy and healthy woman, so glad u are with me :D xxoo have a fab weekend love u!

  95. Thank you for sharing your inspirational story, may your words and life choices become a beacon and inspiration to all women reading this. What a wonderful blogging community that we have where we can share our issues and how we defeated them.

  96. 101 SarahG

    Kailey, never would I have thought YOU had a past involving an ED. This post made me cry, this makes you even more of a stunning person.

    Seriuosly girl right now YOU are my biggest inspiration.

    Love, Sarah

  97. Absolutely beautiful post, Kailey. Thank you for courageously sharing your story with us!!!

  98. awesome post… i miss my college years so much… my advice for them is the same as yours… LIVE IT UP!!!! when it is over…its the real world smack ya in the face! no breaks, no dancing nights away… ahh i wish i was still there!

  99. 104 Harpist

    What a brave and heart-filled post. I think it’s so interesting that those of us who have had ED’s have an intense fascination with food. It CAN be a healthy fascination! Sometimes I think that we’ve always had that fascination and interest, but somehow got the message that it was wrong or unacceptable, and to deal we turned it into deprivation. It’s a complex issue, but definitely surmountable. Thank you for being a wonderful role “model.” !

  100. What a wonderful post! I feel the same as you- anorexia consumed me for four years and it’s AMAZING to finally be living life- especially since I’m a college student AFTER ALL- I let my first two years go to waste in obsession and disease but boy oh boy is it great to be free of such a debilitating condition.
    Lots and lots of love :)

  101. Thanks for sharing- this is a big post for you- but it’s good that you are here- so many people look up to you and will appreciate your honesty in this post.

    you rock. enough said.

  102. B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L. Period.
    I cannot even BEGIN to tell you how much of an inspiration you are to me and so many others going through recovery. Thank you so much for sharing your story. You are a wonderful example of how to truly LIVE LIFE and you have given me so much hope. Keep on LIVING and ENJOYING every second. love you!!
    xoxo-Alli

  103. 108 sophie

    Thanks for the post! I’ve never commented before but I just wanted to reading your blog has honestly been a big inspiration for me to leave my ED behind, enjoy food again, and LIVE!

  104. Snackie you look amazing now, and I love these photos, some of them i remember seeing, and love seeing them again!!! Congrats on your recovery journey and thank you for sharing your story, it’s wonderful that you feel confident and strong to share it!

  105. 110 Katrina B.

    I have been reading you blog for nearly 6 months now, but I have never commented. I’ve never suffered an ED but I have ALWAYS struggled with self image and a low self esteem. Reading this brought tears to my eyes and made me want to tell you how wonderful, inspirational, and beautiful you are. H-Unit must be unbelievably proud of you. I know I am, and we don’t even know each other.

    I hope you have an amazing weekend. Also, congrats on your soon-to-be position of college grad ;-) I’m a 29 year old, single mom of 3 children. I am on my 3rd semester of college and believe me when I say I have contemplated dropping out many times. I love to hear/read about other people’s accomplishments; it gives me the extra push that I need!

  106. hi kailey! i don’t think i’ve ever commented on your blog, but i just wanted to thank you for your honesty in this post. it’s gorgeous, as are you! the concept of living, as simple as it is, has probably been the strongest motivator for me. i can’t imagine ever spiraling as far down as i was, because life is too beautiful not to grab hold of and live. sometimes i struggle, sometimes i am tempted to isolate myself. but every time i go out, every time i let myself experience life, and revel in the people i am so lucky to have in my life – i know how worth it life is. thank you for the reminder to live and to love.

  107. 112 Rachel

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and never commented, but I just want to say thank you so much for this post. I consider myself mostly recovered from my eating disorder, but sometimes I still struggle with food issues. Lately I’ve been back in that rule-ridden world and this is just what I needed to remind me to relax and just go out and live. Thank you again! You’re such an inspiration.

  108. Kailey love. This post is amazing. You impact peoples lives by your blog, and now through this story. It shows the woman you are. Possessing confidence, strength, vigor for life and beauty within and out. This topic is so important, for people on all ends of the spectrum. Those suffering or recovering from ED, to those whom never experienced it. Women and men need to be reminded of body image issues; the damaging effects it can have on someones psysche. It does not determine the integrity of a person, and in our culture it is so easy to lose sight of this. Thank you SO much for sharing your story.
    Do the damn thang gurl, lets live life :)

    P.S. I’m smuggling you to the Caribbean with me. It must be done. You’ll charm your way out of school for a week and I’ll do the same with interning. Instead we’ll sip margaritas on a cruise ship and gallivant around the Islands! Plan?

    LOVE you boo!

  109. 114 maren

    Thanks for being so honest and sharing your story! You inspire so many people :) Love your blog!

  110. amazing, honest, beautiful post. i am so proud of you and lucky to “know” you
    keep on doing yo thang.. because you do it all so well :D
    xoxo

  111. Thank you so much for this post lovely :)

  112. 117 lauren

    you’re so wonderful to have written this; and your every post is inspirational to me.

    keep living life!

  113. I did not know you had an ED…but I’m SO pleased to hear that it is no longer part of your life! You’re incredibly brave and amazing to share this. Rock on, sister!

  114. i was catching up on all your lovely posts and was remembering things i wanted to say…and then i got to this post, and it all went out the window. you are a wonderful fabulous and inspiring person. seriously. i wasn’t expecting this, but when i read this post, i was so touched. i may not have ever had an eating disorder, but i think they are something we can ALL relate to in some form. thank you so much for sharing, and i think you put out a fabulous message: LOVE AND LIVE YO LIFE. amen sister. i am so grateful to call you a friend :).

    love you!

  115. 120 Lizzy

    you are beautiful inside and out! have i told you this before?? You radiate and i cannot thank you enough for sharing what you have shared here. You have come such a long way, and you send out such an amazing message for all of us! reading your posts each and every day puts a sparkle in my eye! I love you so much girl! keep doin what your doin! live it up baby! :)

    xoxox

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  116. 121 Rika

    miss, you’re so gorgeous :) thanks for sharing your input- i feel reassured that i can break my bubble now

  117. 122 jabbeyeats

    this is a beautiful post. you have always been an inspiration to me for as long as i’ve read this blog (a long time), and that has now been magnified exponentially. you are a beautiful person both inside and out, and you seem so happy now. keep doing what you’re doing!

  118. Pumpkin, I LOVE YOU!! I’m so happy you’re in such a wonderful, balanced place in your life. I want nothing but the best for my Snackface! I think this post (in addition to your fabby blog) will help so many people out there who are reading.

  119. Thank you so much for sharing this. You are such a role model =)


  1. 1 My life, freed. « Cook, Bake and Nibble
  2. 2 SnackFace’s Super 7 Links

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

